Album Review: LCD Soundsystem - Sound of Silver


28 Jun 2007, 3:04

Taken from my blog, go read it there if you want a FREE COOKIE!

Sound Of Silver is the second full-length offering from James Murphy, aka LCD Soundsystem. However, the so-called 'sophomore blues' don't affect this mixture of dance, punk, and incredibly catchy tunes in the least. Here's the track-by-track.

1. "Get Innocuous!" (7:11)

Sound starts off with this club-ready hit. Beginning with a repetitive synth opening lasting almost two minutes, always increasing in intensity, Murphy shows that he is no stranger to dance music. This song is a great opener, but the ending leaves you wanting a bit more. Thankfully, he delivers.

2. "Time to Get Away" (4:12)

Next, we get delivered into one of the more punk-oriented songs on the album. In true punk fashion, the lyrics of the song are straightforward, stereotypical, and still lovably catchy. These first couple of songs seem to have been designed to introduce the two-sided personality of Murphy, which as far as we can tell, is a punk-rocker trapped inside of a Dj's body. While this doesn't have a lot of replay value, it sets up the next few amazing songs.

3. "North American Scum" (5:26)

At track three, the listener is introduced to one of the strongest songs LCD Soundsystem has ever recorded. "North American Scum" is able to create a political atmosphere, without focusing on overused bullshit like wars, presidents, and tax dollars, instead putting the emphasis on the public as a whole. By choosing to include himself in the descriptions, Murphy shows a songwriting talent much more matured than that of his peers.

4. "Someone Great" (6:25)

Taking a great stride away from the previous tracks, "Someone Great" is the album's first attempt at a 'slow song'. This ballad-esque track presents itself initially as the best thing Sound of Silver has to offer. But it's just getting started.

5. "All My Friends" (7:37)

Halfway through the album, we arrive at not only the best track on the album, but one of the best songs to be released in 2007. This upbeat tune about the quickness of life, as well as the loneliness we all feel, is surprisingly honest to be coming from a dance artist. In addition, this is another example of Murphy proudly displaying his love and knowledge of music. The line "We set controls for the heart of the sun/One of the ways that we show our age" is an obvious tribute to the early Pink Floyd song. While this is one of the longest songs on the album, is never drags or seems to repeat itself. When it ends, you feel yourself wanting more, and that's exactly what it was intended to do. Go outside, see your friends, live your life. Don't let it all slip away.

6. "Us v Them" (8:29)

I've sat here thinking of ways to sugarcoat this, and the truth is, I just can't. This is a very, very weak track. It's repetitive, it's dull, it's too long, it doesn't belong directly after a masterpiece like "All My Friends", it screams B-Side, and it just doesn't FIT with the album. If there's one thing you need to know about me, it's this; I am an album listener. I don't focus on singles, I don't like compilation albums, and I HATE songs that disrupt the flow of an album. To me, an album needs to be coherent, and sound like it goes together. This song blows a hole right through Sound of Silver. Luckily, Murphy is able to pull it back together.

7. "Watch the Tapes" (3:55)

Really, this is just a fun track. It's rare that a commentary on the music business is so...happy. Clocking in at just under four minutes, this is the shortest song on the album, yet it's one of the most memorable. It manages to recover most, if not all of the momentum that was lost with "Us v Them".

8. "Sound of Silver" (7:07)

The title track of this album may not be the most powerful, but it serves its' purpose. Even though it simply repeats a single chorus over and over, it doesn't drag on like so many dance songs seem to do in home listening. Now, this is certainly intended for a club setting, but it doesn't harm a listener's impression of the album if heard on headphones.

9. "New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down" (5:35)

Everything comes and ends with this. A full-blown ballad, about the loss of faith in one's world. There is nothing I can really say about this song, other than go and listen to it. It's a very different feel from the rest of the album, but it suits it perfectly. An example of a great closer.

Overall album rating: 8/10

Conclusion: Buy this album. You won't regret it.


  • Trickface

    Us V Them is great!

    23 Sep 2007, 1:52
Ver todos (5)
Dejar un comentario. Entra en o regístrate (es gratis).