Hint - Daily Intake (album review)


27 Mar 2012, 20:02

Daily Intake
By Alan Ranta

The roots of Jamaica run deep in the soul of Sussex-based producer Jonathan James. The proof is all over his third album as Hint, delivering a haze of irie riddims, as channelled through the raunchy beats of UK garage, future dancehall, break beat and other subgenres. Lead single "Aliens Enter" has T-Fly spitting rhymes like Lil' Calliope's "The True" over a massive, gamelan-flavoured hip-hop beat. "Watch the Media" tastes a little of classic drum & bass, care of a tastefully deployed amen break and a tight, Juice Aleem-like flow by Profisee, giving his views on the phone hacking scandal still rocking billionaire media tycoon Richard Murdock, a theme underlined by a sampled dial tone. Daily Intake yearns for a big system; it's designed to tantalize subwoofers and keep feet moving. This album may not resonate with the West coast crowd so much, but "Give It Up" wouldn't be out of place on a Chromeo album. The rest of Daily Intake would find a comfortable place in the record collections of those in the East that dig the likes of Poirier, The Bug and Bonjay/Thunderheist.
(Tru Thoughts)

Track Listing:
01. Crash and Burn (feat. Natalie Storm)
02. Lock the Door (feat. Zed Bias)
03. Watch the Media (feat. Profisee)
04. Tape Packs
05. Give It Up (feat. Josie Stingray, 1-O.A.K)
06. Aliens Enter (feat. T-Fly)
07. Physical Stamina
08. Pretty Stable
09. Peter and I (feat. T-Fly)
10. Find Yourself (feat. Josie Stingray, 1-O.A.K.)
11. Upper Echelon
12. Mad Nervous


Dejar un comentario. Entra en Last.fm o regístrate (es gratis).