Foro » Feedback and Ideas

Global hotkeys in Last.fm Client

• Global hotkeys in Last.fm Client

Sorry to bother again with this subject, but everything I find in the forums is people requesting this feature and no concrete responses from Last.FM.

It may sound selfish, but to me this is the most obvious feature for a desktop music player. When you are listening to music while working/studying and someone calls you, you can just strike something like WinKey+X in the keyboard and that pauses the playback. When you're done, you just hit WinKey+X again and the radio is on again. You do not need to use the mouse, or take off the headphones.

When I'm using Winamp, this cycle is very natural and I do it dozens of times a day. But the Last.fm player has no equivalent feature or a workaround. I've been using Global Hotkeys in Winamp since 2004 at least (http://www.subterfugios.net/blog/arquivos/2005/05/24/winamp-atualizacoes-e-configuracoes/ in portuguese) and I use Last.fm since 2005.

Recently, I decided to subscribe (pay) for Last.FM since I think the recommendation system has become excellent. But it is time the Player gets a pro update.

Anyone else with the same feelings?

I look forward to hear from Last.FM about features like this and client roadmap.

Thanks!
    João.

• +1

I, too, have wished for something like this. My keyboard has special buttons that work with Windows Media Player (play/pause, stop, next track, and previous track). I don't know if they could be made to work with a new version of the Last.fm Client, or if it would only be a key combination such as you suggest.

It would also be nice if Love and Ban could be included (with the option of a dialog allowing to press Enter or Escape to confirm or cancel).

• GHNeko escribió...
    • Usuario
    • 13 Jun 2011, 21:58
    I'd like to see this too. It'd be someone thing to add to my lists of "reasons why I pay for Last.fm."